Second Time’s The Charm? Mamata Banerjee Pins Hope On Bhabanipur, Her Face-Saver Since Formation In 2011 » techkashif – techkashif


As West Bengal’s Bhabanipur constituency faces bypolls, it’s the second time within the final 10 years that Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee has turned to her residence seat to avoid wasting her chief minister’s chair.

The Bhabanipur constituency, which was fashioned in 2011 after delimitation, has been a stronghold of TMC since its inception. The chief minister’s Kalighat residence falls underneath this constituency.

In accordance with Election Fee’s statistics, the TMC received the 2011 West Bengal meeting elections on 184 seats and ended the 34-year-old Left Entrance rule.

At the moment, Banerjee had not contested the polls. Occasion MLA after which minister Subrata Bakshi had give up the seat to make approach for Banerjee, who had taken oath because the chief minister. Then, Banerjee was searching for her maiden entry to the state meeting. She managed to avoid wasting her CM chair as she received the bypolls.

Second Time's The Charm? Mamata Banerjee Pins Hope on Bhabanipur, Her Face-Saver Since Formation in 2011 » techkashif

Within the 2016 meeting polls, she retained the seat. In 2021, Didi determined to maneuver to Nandigram – the place she confronted defeat regardless that TMC received 213 seats within the state. Banerjee misplaced to BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari – a former TMC chief — by a margin of 1,956 votes. Adhikari, a former shut aide of the TMC chief, is now the Chief of Opposition within the West Bengal meeting.

ALSO READ | TMC, BJP Banners Reigniting Bengal Polls Spirit, Why Nandigram Waits with Bated Breath for Bhabanipur Outcome

Regardless of dropping her seat, Banerjee took oath because the chief minister of the state on Might 5. As necessitated by the principles, she has once more turned to her residence seat to avoid wasting her put up. She needs to be elected to the state meeting earlier than November 5 to retain the chair.

The seat was bagged by celebration’s Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay, who vacated the seat in Might to make approach for Banerjee to contest from the seat.

Drop in celebration’s vote share, successful margin in Bhabanipur Constituency

Whereas the TMC has received all of the meeting elections held in Bhabanipur, the celebration’s vote share and successful margin has dropped. The celebration’s Subrata Bakshi received the 2011 polls with 87,903 votes, accounting for 65 per cent of the full votes. The successful margin was almost 50,000 votes, the info from the Election Fee exhibits.

ALSO READ | Land of Legends & Wealthy in Historical past​: Bhabanipur Gives Clues to Who Might Win Bypoll on Sept 30

Within the 2021 meeting polls, Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay received the seat with 73,505 votes, accounting for 57.71 per cent of the full votes. The successful margin was simply 28,719 votes.

Mamata Banerjee had bagged the seat with the very best margin of greater than 54,000 within the bypolls held in 2011. She bagged 73,635 votes, securing 78 per cent of the votes pooled. Nonetheless, within the 2016 meeting polls, she secured 65,520 votes — solely 48 per cent of the full votes. The successful margin in 2016 dropped to 25,301 votes, the Election Fee knowledge exhibits.

Learn all of the Newest Information, Breaking Information and Coronavirus Information right here

Disclaimer: This publish has been auto-published from an organization feed with none modifications to the textual content material and has not been reviewed by an editor

Leave a Comment